Governance – April 6, 2016 – Agenda

University Area Commission – Governance Committee

Agenda –April 6, 2016

According to Article IV Section 7: The Governance Committee shall:

  1. Implement these by laws and elections rules as required;
  2. Research the effectiveness and applicability of these by laws and make recommendations to the Commission for amendments to the by laws;
  3. Conduct the orientation of new commissioners;
  4. Coordinate t he internal activities of the Commission.


  1. Set working agenda for 2016 Governance Committee
    • List of topics – set priority
Topic Priority
Expand community participation in all committees

·       We can work on process to create Committee by laws that allow Community members to become voting members of Committees.

Explore succession planning—how is information transferred over time

Create process to document specific Commission knowledge so it can be shared as Commissioners turn over

Strive for more efficient meetings

·       Continue to work on educating Commissioners on meeting rules and parliamentary decorum

Commissioner Training
Complete remaining by law changes proposed by Governance last year but not brought forward for a vote by the Commission
Work on concerns brought from the Election Committee

·       Including a survey of people who have run in recent elections

·       Special focus on those who ran as write in candidates to understand concerns with that process

·       Consider changing election back to just one day, this would require a by law change

Work on attendance policy

·       Consider some special accommodations for those who serve on Zoning

·       Enforcement of current attendance rules

·       Need to clarify when a quorum is reached to start the annual meeting

·       Next year all the appointed and nominated seats are up


Discuss whether the Commission should ever reconsider a vote it has already taken
Put together training on Ohio Sunshine laws and all the key requirements which apply to the Commission

Some focus areas:

·       Public meeting requirements

·       Proper email communication

  • New items if missed in last months notes

Committee Members 2016 Commission Year

Commissioner Present Absent Excused
Doreen Uhas-Sauer
Sharon Young
Steve Volkmann
Rachel Beeman
Alex Wesaw
David Hegley

Note: Agenda subject to change

Comments are closed