Governance Committee – Aug. 6, 2014 – Agenda

Location Change:

2111 Iuka

(off Northwood Ave between N. 4th and Summit, address sign will be on Northwood for house numbers to the alley behind the Northwood properties). Parking on Northwood, or on Iuka (come up the stairs at 2117 Iuka and cross over to at the top of the stairs to 2111). DO NOT PARK IN FRONT OF THE GARAGE AT 2111

University Area Commission – Governance Committee

Agenda – August 6, 2014



According to Article IV Section 7: The Governance Committee shall:


a. Implement these by laws and elections rules as required;

b. Research the effectiveness and applicability of these by laws and make recommendations to the Commission for amendments to the by laws;

c. Conduct the orientation of new commissioners;

d. Coordinate t he internal activities of the Commission.




  1. Finalize language for proposed by law changes to handle Zoning cases
  • Final review of proposed language:

Article IV, Section 7, Paragraph d:


  1.                                                   d.      The following time limits and order will be adhered to for all zoning cases heard before the commission:
    1. Zoning Committee presents the facts of the case 3 Min (max)
    2. Applicant presentation 5 Min (max)
    3. Zoning Committee report 5 min (max)
    4. Public Comment (max 3 people each pro/con): 2 min each (max)
  • Only those who complete speaker slips prior to the case being heard will be considered for speaking
  1. Commission discussion 1 min (max) per commissioner who wishes to speak a single time for 2 rounds
  • A commissioner cannot save time for their second round or transfer their remaining time to someone else.  A commissioner cannot let someone else speak on his or her time.
  1. Applicant response 3 min (max)
  2. Commission vote
  3. The zoning committee prior to his or her appearance at a commission meeting will provide a copy of this section to each zoning applicant.


  • Open discussion and questions on proposed by law changes


Committee Members 2014 Commission Year

Commissioner Present Absent Excused
Sharon Young
Lucas Dixon
Jim Bach
Doreen Uhas-Sauer
Terra Goodnight
Colin Odden
David Hegley


Note: Agenda subject to change

Comments are closed